Forgetting the Bigness of God

5445841957_bdaf784a5e_b

Spider is not not a pleasant word to my ears.

I know that some people (like my sister in law that I love very much) think they are really awesome. When there is a spider crawling up the wall that seems really scary and big at the moment, I usually call my brother in and he will take care of it for me.

And I do have to laugh at myself sometimes when I think about how small the spider really is in comparison to me.

I think how we forget about our size compared to a little spider is kind of how we forget about the size of our God.

These huge problems we have in our day to day lives are little, bitty spiders compared to Our God.

One day I was reading in the Old Testament about how God led his people out of Egypt safely and, yes, they were grateful and praised Him but when some other problems came up, they forgot all about their loving, merciful God and what He had done and how mighty He is, and they could only imagine doing things in their own strength. And I thought to myself “What jerks to be so ungrateful and forgetful.” Then it hit me. When a problem stands before me, I think that I will have to face it on my own and in my own strength. Why do I forget what all God has done for me and how big He is?

I am no better then the children of Israel in the Old testament.

I catch myself not giving my problems to God and I ask myself why am I not giving this to Him. I am acting like I don’t think He can handle it. But that is so silly. That is like not letting my BIG, STRONG brother come in and get rid of the teeny tiny spider because I don’t think He is big enough to do it. Sounds silly right?

When I do give God my troubles, He does a better job with them than I ever could. I feel so free and peaceful afterwords. And I wonder why I didn’t do it sooner.

He wants to take our problems; He tells us to give them over!

Cast thy burden upon the Lord and He shall sustain the: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved. Psalms 55:22

It’s kind of like having an electrical problem and calling the electrician, the one who knows all about electricity.

God knows all about our problem and how to fix them. But just like you have to call the electrician and let him fix it, you have to call on God and give Him your problem and let Him fix it.

So I think next time I see a spider on the wall, I am still going to call for my brother, And when the next problem comes up hopefully I will remember to give it to God.

Casting all your care upon him; for He careth for you. 1 Peter 5:7

Because Greater is He that is in you, than He that is in the world. 1 John 4:4

By: Emma S.

Photo Credit: Flickr

Leave a Reply

