Who Am I?

il_fullxfull.279930644

Dear Diary, today I hit 500 friends on Facebook. I now get hundreds of comments and likes every day…  So why is it that I feel completely alone? Why do I feel worthless and out of place? Why don’t I feel like any one values me for who I really am?

This is the story of so many people around the world today. Social media controls us. We decide that the most important thing in life is what others think of us. If no one likes my picture on Instagram, they must not like me as a person. Why is it that we allow such a small thing to control how we feel about who we are?

Revelations 1:6 – And hath made us kings and priests unto God and his Father; to him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen.

Jesus made us the way He made us for a purpose. He has a journey for us to take, a masterpiece for us to be a part of. But instead of waking up each morning praising the Lord for the life He has given us, we allow the world to set the bar for our identity and our worth. Every day when I wake up, I know that Jesus still loves me and he still has a plan for me. I can never make a mistake that will change that because I am his child and he has forgiven me for my sin – past, present, and future. I know that he will always accept me just the way I, am no matter how bad or good my day may have been. He is always by my side and he will never give up on me, because I am his child. But sometimes that knowledge gets lost, and I forget that it doesn’t really matter what my Facebook friends think, or how popular I am.

Jeremiah 1:5a – Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart…

There is a saying that if you don’t care what anyone else thinks you, don’t care about anybody. And I think that is true. If you don’t value anyone’s opinion but your own, you don’t tend to value people in general. But we take it too far. Instead of valuing opinions the way Christ meant for us to, we make them into idols. And we find ourselves always trying to measure up to the standard the world has set for us. As humans, we can only go on measuring up for so long before we get tired of trying and fail – and when that happens, our entire identity that we worked so hard to build comes crashing down around us. We find ourselves depressed and ready to give up because we are searching in the wrong place for our worth.

People will disappoint people, but Jesus can never be disappointed.

Disappointment means that someone was not expecting us to fail in some way. Because Jesus knows our hearts and he knows what we have done, are doing, and will do, we can’t surprise him. We may grieve the Spirit by our sinful actions but we can never disappoint him. Unfortunately, it’s much too easy in today’s culture to seek our worth and identity from the world and the world is easily disappointed.

It’s time to start a new trend. It’s time to stop worshiping the identity that the world has set on us and to start looking to our Creator and Savior for our identity.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 – Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; You were bought with a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

By: Bethany Stelzl

Photo Credit: Flickr

Leave a Reply

